©2018 by Andreas Müller, Müller Mixed Methods

Müller Mixed Methods

Coachings, Workshops & Research in Qualitative Data Analysis

Qualitative data is as old (or young) as humankind itself. Every object, image, video and all unstructured text can be considered as “data” and be interpreted in a systematic way. If you are working with interviews, open survey data, Youtube comments, Twitter feeds, protocols, print media, diaries, letters or trial records then you are probably familiar with the difficulties of analysing and interpreting them systematically. In working with these unstructured or semi-structured documents, a systematic approach with qualitative data analysis can help!

maxqda.png

Training in: MAXQDA 2018

  • Mixed-Methods Analysis

  • Visualising Data

Logo2.jpg

Software Training & Data Analysis

  • Coachings & Workshops

  • Data Analysis

  • UX Research

atlasti.jpg

Training in: ATLAS.ti 8

  • Network Analysis

  • Modelling Relationships

 

What is qualitative data analysis?

It's not magic, it's qualitative data analysis!

In its essence, qualitative data analysis is all about structuring text (or images, video and audio) with your own analytical categories. You are looking for topics or themes within the text and attach short keywords, often called "codes" to the relevant segments that you have found. These codes help you first of all in finding your relevant text segments again, but they also allow you to quantify your results by counting the segments automatically.

Who cast the most weather spells in these documents? What is the difference between a male and a female witch? Where was that part when a bucket full of fish teeth was within a man's skull? All these questions are fairly easy to answer, as soon as you have left enough bread crumbs within the deep forest of qualitative data.

Hint: You can read much more about Qualitative Data Analysis on my blog Met-Hodos: (Re)considering the road of research and analysis.

 
 

Do I need research software?

The purpose of software is to make your life easier. If it does not do that, you do not need that software!

The computer is an expert in counting, searching and grouping but it can hardly tell your grandmother from a puppy dog. That’s why you are always needed! After all, you are a sense making machine! However, the computer can help you with that, but to learn any software always means to climb a barrier first. In many cases this effort pays off and the computer can turn into your most powerful research assistant. I would love to help you to have a look above that barrier first, so that you can make an informed decision weather climbing it is worth it or not.

So the answer is: maybe. Many techniques of qualitative data analysis are independent from using a MAC or PC. After all, a long time ago a certain Philipp Mayring started doing this only with pencils and a typewriter. Anyhow, your computer has much more to offer, than just streaming Netflix.

Hint: You can read more about the differences between the individual software programs here on my blog.

Does that make sense for my research?

If you do not have any qualitative data (but only numbers and tables), you do not need qualitative data analysis!

Qualitative data analysis is especially useful when you are dealing with unstructured or semi-structured data such as text, images, videos or audio. Furthermore, it is crucially important that thinking in categories, themes or "codes" makes sense in your methodology.

From my experience, I can tell that in many cases when we are dealing with unstructured data (we historians call them "sources" or "documents"), structuring them along content based categories can be of great help! However, the computer will never do the thinking for you, don't raise false hopes on that!

Hint: Never use software beyond the point of usefulness! You can read more on this here on my blog.

 

Who am I?

Historian, freelancer, software trainer, witchcraft researcher and more

Indeed, I am interested in many things, except for cars, stars or television. There can be little left, you say? Think twice! Most relevant for you is that I am a professional historian. Therefore, I have been chosen to extract meaning from the  most stubborn and resilient qualitative "data" out there. I have been trained to understand people who are dead for more than 500 years and many people might think that they have nothing to say any more. So if you are struggling with understanding your online trolls, unemployed teachers or retired dog sitters, be at ease, I am glad to be of help! And a small piece of advice via mail or telephone you will always get for free!

 

Contact

+4915736000861

Halle (Saale), Saxony-Anhalt

©2018 by Andreas Müller, Müller Mixed Methods

Müller Mixed Methods

Coachings, Workshops & Research in Qualitativer Datenanalyse

Qualitative Daten sind so alt (oder jung) wie der Mensch selbst, denn jedes Objekt, Bild oder Video und jeder unstrukturierte Text, von der rußgeschwärzten Handschrift bis zum elektronischen Protokoll, kann als Datum aufgefasst und systematisch interpretiert werden. Arbeiten Sie mit Interviews, Umfragen, Youtube-Kommentaren, Twitter-Feeds, Protokollen, Printmedien, Tagebüchern, Briefen oder Prozessakten? Dann kennen Sie bestimmt das Problem einer systematischen Erschließung und Interpretation dieser häufig un- oder semi-strukturierten Daten. Hier kann Ihnen ein systematischer Zugang zur qualitativen Datenanalyse helfen!

maxqda.png

Training in: MAXQDA 2018

  • Mixed-Methods Analysen

  • Daten visualisieren

Logo2.jpg

Software Training & Datenanalyse

  • Coachings & Workshops

  • Datenanalyse

  • User-Research

atlasti.jpg

Training in: ATLAS.ti 8

  • Netzwerk Analysen

  • Beziehungen modellieren

 

Was ist Qualitative Datenanalyse?

Qualitative Datenanalyse ist keine Hexerei!

Im Wesentlichen geht es darum, Text (oder auch Bilder, Film und Ton) entlang von selbst gewählten Analysekategorien zu strukturieren. Sie suchen dabei im Text nach Themen oder Motiven (ganz Ihrer Fragestellung entsprechend) und verschlagworten bzw. annotieren die aufgefundenen Textstellen mit kurzen Begriffen, auch "Codes” genannt. Diese Codes helfen Ihnen relevante Textstellen wiederzufinden, eröffnen Ihnen aber gleichzeitig die Möglichkeit diese zu quantifizieren, also zu zählen.

Wer hat in diesen Prozessakten die meisten Wetterzauber gemacht? Was unterscheidet hier eine männliche von einer weiblichen Hexe? Und wo war nochmal diese spannende Stelle mit einem Eimer voll Hechtzähnen im Kopf? All diese Fragen sind ganz leicht zu beantworten, wenn Sie erst einmal ausreichend Brotkrummen im Wald der qualitativen Daten hinterlassen haben.

Tipp: Mehr über Qualitative Datenanalyse können Sie hier auf meinem Dissertationsblog Met-Hodos nachlesen.

 
 

Brauche ich Analysesoftware?

Der Sinn von Software ist es, Ihr Leben leichter und angenehmer zu machen. Tut sie das nicht, dann brauchen Sie keine Software!

Der Computer ist als Rechenmaschine ein Experte darin zu zählen, aber er kann Ihre Großmutter nicht von einem Grauhaardackel unterscheiden. Deshalb braucht es Sie! Software zu erlernen, bedeutet natürlich immer erstmal eine Barriere aus Noch-Nicht-Wissen zu überwinden. In vielen Fällen lohnt sich dies und der Computer kann ein toller digitaler Hilfswissenschaftler sein. Gerne helfe ich Ihnen dabei, einen kleinen Blick über diese Mauer zu werfen und einzuschätzen, ob oder welche Anlysesoftware für Sie Sinn macht und ob sich die investierte Einarbeitungszeit lohnen wird.

Die Antwort ist also ein klares: Jein! Viele Grundtechniken der Qualitativen Datenanalyse sind unabhängig von Mac oder PC, schließlich hat ein gewisser Philipp Mayring das mal mit Buntstiften und Schreibmaschine gemacht, trotzdem hat Ihr Rechner Ihnen weit mehr zu bieten, als nur Netflix zu streamen.

 

Tipp: Mehr über die Unterschiede zwischen den verschiedenen Softwareprogrammen können Sie hier auf meinem Blog nachlesen.

Ist das für meine Forschung sinnvoll?

Wenn Sie keine qualitativen Daten haben, sondern nur Zahlen und Tabellen, dann brauchen Sie auch keine Qualitative Datenanalyse!

Qualitative Datenanalyse lohnt sich vor allem dann, wenn Sie über unstrukturierte oder semi-strukturierte Daten wie Text, Bild, Film oder Ton verfügen. Außerdem ist es wichtig, dass in Ihrer Methodologie ein Denken in Kategorien, Themen oder inhaltlichen Codes sinnvoll erscheint.

Aus meiner Erfahrung kann ich sagen, dass bei sehr vielen Fällen, in denen unstrukturierte Daten vorliegen (wir Historiker sagen dazu auch ganz einfach "Quellen" oder "Dokumente"), die inhaltliche Strukturierung mithilfe eines Softwareprogramms eine große Hilfe sein kann! Der Computer nimmt Ihnen jedoch nicht das Denken ab, machen Sie sich dahingehend keine Hoffnungen!

Tipp: Softwareverwendung darf niemals ein Selbstzweck sein! Mehr dazu können Sie hier auf meinem Blog Met-Hodos nachlesen.

 

Wer ich bin

Historiker, Freiberufler, Software-Trainer, Hexenforscher und mehr

Tatsächlich befasse ich mich privat wie beruflich mit einer ganzen Menge an Dingen, nur nicht mit Autos, Promis oder Fernsehserien. Da bleibt nichts übrig, denken Sie? Falsch gedacht!

Für Sie am relevantesten ist wohl, dass ich als zünftiger Historiker dazu auserkoren bin, selbst hartnäckigste qualitative "Daten” zu erschließen. Ich wurde dafür ausgebildet, Leute zu verstehen, die seit 500 Jahren tot sind und von denen kaum einer ahnt, was Sie noch alles zu sagen haben.

Wenn Sie also die Aussagen Ihrer Online-Trolle, Ihrer arbeitslosen Lehrer oder Ihrer aktiven Frührentnerinnen einfach nicht durchschauen können, dann seien Sie beruhigt, ich helfe Ihnen sehr gerne weiter! Und einen kleinen Rat per Mail oder Telefon gibt's sogar kostenlos.

 

Kontakt

+4915736000861

Halle (Saale), Sachsen-Anhalt